Confused about the rule of over a third

Confused about the rule of over a third

If one player of example the green team passes the ball over a third ,does the player of the other team take the ball to where the player of the other team stood while making a 'over the third' or to where he threw it.

felicia Claire PhilanderReferee, South Africa
ANSWERS
Eleanor DurrPlayer, England

Hi Felicia,

The opposition would take the ball from where it crossed the line. For example, if it was a backline pass and it was over a third, the opposition would take the ball just inside the centre third. So in your example, where the player of the other team stood, not where it was thrown from.

Hope this helps.

Login or Join Now for FREE to post your answer

JOIN SPORTPLAN FOR FREE

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans

Sportplan App

Give it a try - it's better in the app

YOUR SESSION IS STARTING SOON... Join the worlds largest netball coaching resource for 700+ drills and pro tools to make coaching easy.
LET'S DO IT