In the Swifts /Firebirds game

In the Swifts /Firebirds game

In the last quarter a contact penalty was reversed as 'not set'. Why was the centre who did not take the penalty from the correct place made to stand down?

Netballer Player, New Zealand
ANSWERS
Janet Coach, Australia

Player awarded the penalty pass must play the ball from the position indicated by the umpire per rule 3.1 otherwise a free pass is awarded to opposition as penalty was 'not set'.
Answered using Sportplan Mobile App

Netballer Player, New Zealand

Yes I know that but why did that player have to stand down?

Janet Coach, Australia

Sorry missed the point of the question. Penalty applied should have been a free pass without C standing out but appears umpire may have indicated a penalty pass in error. Probably raised some discussion post game.
Answered using Sportplan Mobile App

Janet Coach, Australia

Correction Rule 7.1.1 not 3.1.
Answered using Sportplan Mobile App

Login or Join Now for FREE to post your answer

JOIN SPORTPLAN FOR FREE

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans

Sportplan App

Give it a try - it's better in the app

YOUR SESSION IS STARTING SOON... Join the worlds largest netball coaching resource for 700+ drills and pro tools to make coaching easy.
LET'S DO IT