throw in.

i am a coach and umpire and recently i have come across the situation where players are taking a back line/side line throw in and when the player has released the ball is doesn't actually enter the court bounderies. i.e it just goes along the side line. in this case would the pass be deemed as a foul throw or would the player simpley retrieve the ball and reset to take the pass again. replies would be greatly appreciated. thankyou.

Netball CoachCoach
ANSWERS
Lee-annes NetballCoach, Australia

the player attempting a back/sideline throw in doesnt actually throw it into play due to her own ball skills?

turnover to the opposition taken from the point that the ball left the court (in this case since it never re-entered the court, it would be basically reset).

the only way the same team would keep the ball is if there was an obstruction on court, that caused her to throw it out.  then its a free pass on court.

Netball CoachCoach

Just clarifiying Lee-annes answer, if there is an obstruction on court that causes her to throw it out then it is a penatly pass and the infringing player must stand beside and away.

Lee-annes NetballCoach, Australia

thank you CS...yes i did not clarify it clearly. thanks %3A)

Login or Join Now for FREE to post your answer

JOIN SPORTPLAN FOR FREE

  • search our library of 700+ netball drills
  • create your own professional coaching plans
  • or access our tried and tested plans

Sportplan App

Give it a try - it's better in the app

YOUR SESSION IS STARTING SOON... Join the worlds largest netball coaching resource for 700+ drills and pro tools to make coaching easy.
LET'S DO IT